2017 Team Calgary CYSF.jpg

12 top students and their projects from the Calgary Youth Science Fair were awarded $90,450 in cash, research experience scholarships and university scholarships at the Canada Wide Science Fair held at the University of Regina in Regina, Saskatchewan May 14-20, 2017.

The Canada Wide Science Fair brings together almost 400 projects from over 100 regions of Canada through the auspices of Youth Science Canada. These students represent 25,000 students who competed in over 100 regional Science Fairs.  

Colette Benko from St Mary’s High School was awarded Best of Fair with her project on Novel Pediatric Cancer Therapy: Targeting Epigenetics to Induce Differentiation.

Crystal Radinski from Webber Academy had the Best Grade 9-10 project entitled:  EEG Coherence as a Marker for Alzheimer’s Dementia.

Youth Can Innovates Awards were earned by Tim Wu from Sir Winston Churchill High School, Crystal Radinski and Colette Benko.  Further details on youthcaninnovate.ca.

3 Gold, 5 Silver, and 3 Bronze Medals for Excellence were awarded to Calgary Youth:

Benko, Radinski, and Anika Achari (Sir Winston Churchill High School) received Gold Medals for Excellence.

Sophie Hoye Pacholek (Louis Riel Elementary Junior High School), Monica Lopez (Westmount Charter School), Tim Wu, Faris Fizal (Westmount Charter School) and Emily Gubski (Sir Winston Churchill High School) each received a Silver Medal for Excellence.

Catriona McIntosh (Argyll School), Mehul Gupta (Sir Winston Churchill High School) and Nicole Schmidt (Sir Winston Churchill High School) each received a Bronze Medal for Excellence.

Major Special Awards were received by 4 Calgary students:

Nicole Schmidt earned the Canadian Stockholm Junior Water Prize for a grade 11-12 project and the S.M. Blair Family Foundation Award.

Crystal Radinski earned the Astra Zeneca grade 9-10 Challenge Award in Health, and the Statistical Society of Canada and Biostatistics Section Award.

Colette Benko earned the Astra Zeneca grade 11-12 Challenge Award in Health, and the University of Ottawa Undergraduate Research Scholarship Award.

Emily Gubski earned the Weizmann Canada Award for Scientific Achievement.